RON States

Below is an excerpt from the National Notary Association's Remote Notarization: What You Need To Know, Michael Lewis, June 27, 2018, updated on May 21, 2020. For the full article, click here.

What states allow remote notarization?

Currently, 24 states have passed remote notarization laws. Out of those states, 17 have laws that are in effect as of January 1, 2020. Currently 15 of these states have fully implemented their remote notarization procedures, meaning the law has taken effect and Notaries are currently authorized to perform remote online notarizations in those states.

Also, due to the COVID-19 pandemic, several states that have not fully implemented RON or with pending legislation have issued special orders authorizing Notaries to perform remote notarizations early due to the emergency (See below).

















Virginia, fully implemented

Texas, fully implemented (Additional emergency ID rules for Notaries currently in place, see "COVID-19 UPDATE" above)

Nevada, fully implemented

Minnesota, fully implemented

Montana, fully implemented

Ohio, fully implemented

Tennessee, fully implemented

Florida, fully implemented (Additional COVID-19 emergency rules in place, see "COVID-19 UPDATE" above)


Idaho, fully implemented 

Kentucky, fully implemented 

Oklahoma, fully implemented 

Michigan, fully implemented

Utah, accepting applications to perform remote notarizations, according to the Lt. Governor's website


South Dakota, fully implemented but with limitations (see below)


North Dakota, fully implemented (see below for more details)


Indiana, pending full implementation

Vermont, pending full implementation (Currently permitting RON under special emergency rules)

Effective October 1, 2019, Montana Notaries are permitted to perform remote notarizations for signers outside the state.


Indiana and Vermont's online notarization laws took effect July 1, 2019. However, these states may require additional time to implement remote notarization rules and technology. Notaries interested in performing remote notarizations in these states should contact their state Notary regulating agency for information when remote notarization procedures and services will be made fully available.


South Dakota currently limits remote notarizations to paper documents only and signers for remote notarizations may only be identified through the Notary's personal knowledge.

North Dakota’s webcam notarization law took effect August 1, 2019. North Dakota issued guidance for remote notarization in March 2020.  


Will other states permit remote notarizations in the near future?

States that have enacted remote notarization laws that have not taken effect yet include:

  • Wisconsin, effective May 1, 2020 (Currently permitting RON early under special emergency rules, see "COVID-19 UPDATE" above)

  • Arizona, effective July 1, 2020 (Currently permitting RON early under special emergency rules)

  • Iowa, effective July 1, 2020

  • Maryland, effective October 1, 2020 (Currently permitting RON early under special emergency rules)

  • Nebraska, effective July 1, 2020 (Currently permitting RON early under special emergency rules)

  • Washington, effective October 1, 2020 (Currently permitting RON early under special emergency rules)

  • Alaska, effective January 1, 2021

©2021 by iNotary Network Corp.